MORE COOKING!

Today I finished my last workout of the week. I went to Blink for my training and this time Karen tagged along. It was fun having a workout buddy. Karen also made me walk home from the gym — which is about a mile walk. I usually take the subway. She treated me to a venti (unsweetend, of course) iced green tea for the trek. Then we came back to my apartment and started COOKING. I am a little tired of the egg muffins so we looked for a new recipe and found this Breakfast Sausage and Mushroom Strata. Though when picking the recipe we didn’t realize that it needed to sit overnight! So I still need to bake it. But here it is in all it’s glory!

IMG_4174Look at Karen making sure those bread crumbs are COATED! She takes it seriously.

IMG_4173

Then we made a Lobster Cauliflower Mac and Cheese recipe I got from one of the trainers at Mark Fisher Fitness. I thought we followed the instructions perfectly but it ended up really watery and not that creamy. I did have it for dinner tonight and it was TASTY but didn’t really feel that mac-and-cheese-y. But I would try it again I think. My guess is something went wrong with the roux and we actually needed more flour. So goes. I will still eat it.

                IMG_4175              IMG_4176

I made those turkey meatballs again that I had Week 1. Got a picture of them this time!

IMG_4178

We also made these Chocolate Peanut Butter balls. I added 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips. They are pretty good but I think may have  been better if they were used with two bananas instead of just one. I was happy to have those little oatmeal cookies this week that I’m glad we added another low calorie dessert for me to not worry about over consuming. They are not beautiful but you get the idea.

IMG_4177This weekend I started directing a workshop of a new play I hope to bring to the NYFringe Festival this summer so this weekend is really booked but I’m glad even with all that activity going on I made the time to go to the gym and cook meals for the week. Tomorrow is another busy day (bells at church, rehearsals in the afternoon, and then my sisters-in-law are coming over for dinner) but at least my body can take a break. I drank all my water and I plan to soak in some Epsom Salts. My new best friend. I need to go to bed early because I need to be at rehearsal at 8:30am. Wah wah.

IMG_4169This is also the first check-in for Mark Fisher Fitness and Snatched and so I’ll be weighing myself/taking measurements for the next three days in a row. I do feel like I have been nailing all the things. The only splurge I had was last night when one of my friend’s mom took me and Randall out to dinner. I made good menu choices (steamed halibut) but then she asked to split a chocolate mousse with me and I made the choice to say yes. I didn’t feel like I over did it and knowing I was going out, I tried to manage my calories and choices earlier in the day. I hope this doesn’t set me back in my check in.

I do owe you some Week 2 pictures. I am planning on having Randall take them Monday morning so stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “MORE COOKING!

Leave a Reply

